Adventures In Solids


I’ve had a lot of fun introducing Mr. Chazz to solids. And since, his eating habits have changed a lot. I think it is due to his age, a growth spurt, and that he is sleeping longer at night {most of the time!}

Since I have the need to schedule and plan everything, I spent the afternoon glued to wholesomebabyfoods.com. I wrote out his meal plans, daily requirements, and even a list of what I need to make more of. {Ya, I like to be prepared.} From all that jazz, here is where we are with solids these days.

-Chazz’s Daily Intake-
1/2 C Cereal (rice and oatmeal)
1/4 C Fruit
1/4 C Veggies
Breastmilk on demand- about 28 ozs

To make sure he gets all if that in, I break down the solids like this:

BREAKFAST- 2 T fruit and 4 T oatmeal.
LUNCH- 2 T fruit, 2 T veggie, and 2 rice cereal.
DINDIN- 2 T veggie and 2 T rice cereal.

Keep in mind, Chazz is fed by demand. If he eats all his food and wants more, he gets it. And if he doesn’t finish it all, that’s ok too!

To make sure he is getting a good variety of foods in, I use “O.Y.G.” to keep track. Orange, Yellow, Green refers to the color of the food. He has at least one of every color each day. For example, he might have apple-pear sauce (yellow), Bananacado (green, yellow), and sweet potatoes (orange). Its just an easy way for me to keep it balanced.

I won’t bore you with the entire list of foods he has eaten or my grocery list, but he eats the basic stage one fruits and veggies. Except green beans, poor Little Man’s tummy did not like green beans. And I tried to give him chicken, but we both gagged at the mere smell of the opened jar, so he’s my little vegetarian for now. Maybe we’ll both get the guts to try it soon!





Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Thanks for visiting! You can leave a comment (please do!), read more about us, or even vote for Forever&After by clicking the banner below.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angela
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 06:59:22

    My daughter never liked meat, and she still doesn’t like most of it. I’m sure you’ve read this somewhere, but something she would occasionally eat was organic chicken noodle soup without the broth. You can mush it up as much as necessary, and it’s not quite as unappealing as the pre-made baby meats.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

