Great, Now I’m THAT Mom…


The one that lets her kid chew on rocks.

Remember he was just at the river for the first time? Well, we went back an he enjoyed it a lot more than last time!


He got to kicking and splashing and he insisted on trying to chew rocks. Like full-on tantrum because I kept taking them away before he could knaw on them.

“No, Chazz, you can’t eat the rocks. They’re dirty, Little Man. Give that to Momma.”
*high pitched scream* as I take said filthy rock away. Two minutes later, its
“Chazz, honey, you can’t chew on that one either. See? Dirty rock. Ick!”
Twenty more minutes of that (and Chazz screaming) and I found myself saying,
“Hey, No! ….. Ok, ok! Here chew on this one. It’s bigger. And cleaner. Mmmm! Rocks!”


That little scene got me thinking last night. Wow, there have been a lot of things I never thought I would do as a mother. Like let my kid chew on a nice cold river rock. Or let him hang out in just a diaper.

Or use the words “poop” and “Booger.” On a regular basis. In public.

Or be spotted at the grocery store with a teething ring linked to my shirt. Because, c’mon, where else do I put it whilst juggling a squirming (teething) baby and all those groceries?

Or that time I tried to tiptoe out of the sleeping baby’s room, only to turn and smack my face into the doorway. Ouch. And of course, curse and wake up said sleeping baby. Fail!

I’ve even sucked food off of his little hand after he thrust it into my plate of (hot) beans in line at the church picnic. Because, again, where else do I put it?? {Wow, I really hope nobody saw that….}

I’ve even gotten out the backseat after pulling over to nurse my frantic child, only to realize my boob is STILL hangin’ out of my tank top. Ya. Uhm. That was just fantastic.

Never saw that one in my future career as a mom…

How about when I insisted we wait to buy (insert toy/shirt/apparatus here) because they were out of green, and “that’s his favorite color.” Mmmhm…

Oh, the wild and crazy things we do to keep the kid happy! And how funny I must have looked to all those people without kids. Their time will come. ; )




Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Thanks for visiting! You can leave a comment (please do!), read more about us, or even vote for Forever&After by clicking the banner below.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Veronica
    Jul 04, 2010 @ 17:08:09

    I never though I would be one of those women with two under two. I thought they were insane. But here I am. 28 weeks pregnant with an 11 month old.

    Reply

  2. Kendra
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 16:43:11

    I’m totally THAT mom haha 😀

    Reply

  3. Ameya
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 09:15:40

    Haha, well if it’s any consolation, babies who “get dirty” (and eat dirty?) end up healthier because their immune systems are stronger! So there is nothing wrong with river rocks! (well, at least as long as it’s not the hudson or something..) But I had to LOL at the boob/car thing. OMG! I’m so afraid that’s going to happen on our big road trip now. Haha. I’ll have to be on super alert!

    Reply

  4. Claudia Guerreiro
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 10:42:36

    I am that mo too. I let Lily eat sand.
    Claudia

    Reply

  5. Joella
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 10:56:09

    I found you through the Crunch Hop and really enjoy the way you write. 🙂 I found myself smiling and nodding along while reading! I’m trying to remember the saying “Gad made dirt and dirt don’t hurt.” when it comes to my daughter.

    I’m right with you on the things I never imagined I’d do as a parent. It’s not a terribly glamorous job, is it?

    Definitely following you, I look forward to reading more! 🙂

    http://fineandfair.blogspot.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

