Mum’sNumNums- Sweet Carrot Pea Puree


There are a lot of advantages to using frozen produce to make baby food. The produce is often just as fresh and nutritious, and you save yourself some time.

Much to my suprise, Chazz loves peas! I used frozen carrots and frozen organic peas to make this Carrot-Pea Pureé.

I split this batch in half before I blended it. Half was your standard purée, and the other half I left pretty thick for when he has more teeth (that time is soon, there are 4 coming in right now!)

What I Used:
1 12oz bag frozen organic peas
1 16oz bag frozen carrots
6 oz BM (or Formula)
2-3 Ice cube trays


What I Did:
-Add the carrots to boiling water, just until soft, about 6 minutes.
-Add the peas to carrots and simmer until soft, an additional 4 minutes. Drain.


-Purée peas and carrots together in a blender, adding BM to thin if needed. Remember that the purée will thin after freezing, so keep it a little thick.
-Allow to cool, and pour into ice cube trays to freeze. (the blue ice cube tray has the thicker blend in it… if you can tell by the photo)


-Transfer the frozen cubes to dated ziplock bags for easy storage.

Enjoy! I know Chazz will!

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Thanks for visiting! You can leave a comment (please do!), read more about us, or even vote for Forever&After by clicking the banner below.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. crinthia
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 13:46:19

    That is a really neat idea, I never thought of it before with the ice trays! Thanks for the awesome tip, and great article!

    Reply

  2. Amber
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 16:46:58

    I LOVED making my own baby food and was amazed at the foods the boy liked to eat. You may want to consider steaming the peas/carrots/veggies rather than boiling them as they retain more of their nutrients that way. You can also add the leftover boiling/steaming water to the food to thin it out. At this point you might not need to, but as I mentioned in my earlier comment, my milk didn’t keep and my boy ate a TON of food, so I just couldn’t keep up…enjoy making food. My favourite book was The Baby’s Table by Bradshaw and Donaldson http://www.amazon.ca/Babys-Table-Brenda-Bradshaw/dp/0679312919 …the boy LOVES the ratatouille!! Also check out http://www.weelicious.com for tons of great recipe ideas!
    Amber 🙂
    ps. sorry for the long winded comment

    Reply

  3. taprilcrosier
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 13:04:29

    hi! i’m following from the mom blog monday blog hop! i’d love if you could visit my blog and follow back 🙂

    best,
    april

    http://www.marineparents.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

