Cleaning Day


Our house is a royal mess. I haven’t been keeping up with the cleaning since I’ve been back at work, and now, it is certainly time for a Cleaning Day.

Oh but wait, how do you juggle cleaning and mommin’? Since having Chazz, the way we clean (and how often) has changed. There are a few tricks I have picked up along the way that help make cleaning somewhat painless.

The Right Supplies On Hand
I keep all of my supplies in a cleaning caddy. Running from room to room for forgotten supplies is no longer an option. Running from room to room with a cleaning kit at least makes it practical! Having it all in one easy to carry basket or bin helps.

Safe Cleaning Products
The cleaning products we use are what have changed the most. Having a baby around has really made me think about what we clean with. I don’t like to worry about him coming in contact with harsh chemicals. “Is he too close for me to spray this?” “I just mopped that spot he is licking, is he going to ingest something funky?” And someday, (fingers crossed) he might even want to help clean. Eco-Friendly and plant-based cleaning products relieve a lot of those worries. I order our supplies from EcoStore USA and have been so pleased with how well they work.

Containment
With an adventurous baby on the loose, I need somewhere to contain him. On cleaning day, I switch off between carrying Chazz in an assortment of slings, and moving his Pack & Play from room to room (to room.) And sticking him in an empty laundry basket always buys some time. He just loves peeking through the slats at us. The slings work good for chores like sweeping and mopping, and he enjoys the view while being close to Mom.

Entertainment
Yep, this is the hard part. Keeping him entertained long enough to complete a chore or two can be challenging. It’s a delicate balance between switching up his toys and bouncing between the sling and the Pack & Play. And good tunes help too! I use “peek-a-boo” a lot, as he gets mad if I leave the room. So keeping it fun is important too. Also, Baby Genius movies work wonders. I have no shame in plopping my kid in front of the T.V. to get something done around here!

Cleaning In Shifts
Sometimes, Roman and I switch off throughought the day. He cleans the kitchen while Chazz and I play or do something simple like dust. And then I’ll bust out the bathroom while they play outside. It’s not as productive, but it works in a pinch.

Speed And Agility
I bet you never thought about it, but this is a major part of my cleaning day. If I plan on getting anything done, I better get it done quick. And chasing down Little Man is where the agility part comes in. Chasing him down after he escapes a laundry basket or spots the vaccume cord soon becomes a test of my endurance. On the bright side, this all counts as a workout, right?

Yes, cleaning can be quite the hoot around here. Somedays we don’t get a lot done. (OK, most days) but we do what we can, when we can, and we always have fun.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Thanks for visiting! You can leave a comment (please do!), read more about us, or even vote for Forever&After by clicking the banner below.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Tweets that mention Cleaning Day « Forever&After -- Topsy.com
  2. Amber
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 09:38:59

    Great hints Momma – we have not been cleaning our house enough since the boy came around either and we really need to get a system in place. Sounds like you have a great one. We’re hoping to really get a grip on cleaning this long weekend!
    amber 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

