Invitations. Decorations. Food. Oh my!


This is my mantra.

And will continue to be my mantra until it’s all over.

The hardcore First Birthday planning is in full swing. ::squee!!:: But the mile-long shopping list is a little scary. I just keep repeating:
“Invitations. Decorations. Food. That’s it.”

IT’S JUST A FIRST BIRTHDAY PARTY!

Oh, but it is so much more than that. I’m sure Chazz doesn’t really care if the theme is strictly monkeys or the whole jungle. He’d not too concerned about the “chocolate fondue fountain vs. candy buffet vs. both” debate. (He just wants to make sure there are plenty of bananas!)
But Roman and I are running around like crazies putting together invites, turning our house into a jungle, and googling reviews on chocolate fountains.

Yes, we’ve lost it! But crazy=fun and that’s how we roll!

Here are some of the photos from the inspiration board so far.

Theme: Monkeys

Colors: Brown, Tan, and Green

The Invites:


That is obviously not my cutie pie, but I am 99% sure these are the ones. They’re the perfect color green, and cute yet simple enough for a first birthday. Amy Adele is the designer, and I just love her work. I’m ordering matching stickers as well for the favor bags.

The Goods:


I found these adorable plates and napkins. We will probably work the rest of the tablewear around them. Rather than buy the whole birthday kit (which I found a bit overpriced.) I’ll stick to the budget and buy plain green and brown napkins and plasticware at the Dollar Store.

The Food:
It’s a mid-afternoon party so I’m going light with a combination between a candy buffet and chocolate fountain fondue. (Because really, who doesn’t want to dip EVEYTHING in chocolate??) I’m thinking fruits like banana slices and strawberries, along with angelfood cake pieces, cheesecake balls, and shortbread cookies. Oh, and dessert pizza. Yum! I found these pics for ideas while google-ing:


Yummm!!

The Favors:
Clear cello bags with stickers from Amy Adele to match the invites. Each guest can fill them up at the candy buffet to take home.

The Not-So-Sure’s:
Cake- Cake, cupcakes? Not sure. I’m thinkin’ some monkey cupcakes and a special “smash cake” for Chazz. ???

The deco- as for decorations, I’m turning our house into a jungle. I’ve been slaving away turning paper bags into vines, making mini palm trees, not-so-mini palm trees, cutting out leaves. My oh my, this is a post all it’s own.

What do you think so far? Am I in over my head?
I just can’t wait to see our Little Monkey on his very first birthday. And I can’t wait to celebrate one whole year of being a family.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Thanks for visiting! You can leave a comment (please do!), read more about us, or even vote for Forever&After by clicking the banner below.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Tweets that mention Invitations. Decorations. Food. Oh my! « Forever&After -- Topsy.com
  2. Ashley Hyde
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 11:28:25

    cece- last year fof MY birthday i had a monkey cupcake cake.. check my random in my fb to see pics! i ordered it from smiths, not too spendy AND you can order a supersize cupcake to match the cake for his very own smashcake.

    i cant believe its been almost a year since he made his entrance into this world.. im so thankful to have you going first and reporting back!

    let me know if you need anything.. and i mean anything! i’ll help cut out stuff.. paint stuff.. help decorate. just say the word! xxxx

    Reply

    • Forever&After
      Oct 12, 2010 @ 20:40:53

      Ashley,
      Thanks for offering, I really do think I’m in over my head, and I would LOVE your help. I’m taking the whole Saturday before off to decorate.
      And I really am having a hard time believing that Chazz will be one! Remember bringing me that Dilly bar? That was seriously the best one I’ve ever had, I SO needed that, lol. How could that have been a year ago?? This first year went by too fast. Miss Channa will be there before ya know it…. cherish it! (although I know you already do.)
      The monkey cake from smiths is really cute! Although I’m not sure if chazz gets any sugary cake, I was thinking a banana cake for him… Does that make me a mean mom, lol.

      Reply

  3. Sara
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 08:12:11

    Hey! They have that same basic design for invitations and cardstore.com… check it out they might be cheaper! http://www.cardstore.com/catalog/little-monkey-party-aa_0010lc_0.html

    I love the picture of all the glass containers with different candy in them… I might steal that idea!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Chocolate Brown Plasticware
  5. Dennis Clemons
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 22:09:14

    Wow nice blog.. Bravo… And visit my site for Cheap Chocolate Fondue Pot : http://www.chocolatefonduepot.com/ . Thanks

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Welcome To The Jungle: Birthday Decorations « Forever&After

Leave a Reply

