The Gift That Keeps On Giving


Are we ever going to shake this cold?! I swear its being passed around more than a cheap bottle of wine. Mutating its way around our little circle.

The Hubby has had it, I’ve had it. And now Chazz is facing yet another bout. It’s the gift that keeps on giving. And giving. And giving.

Just a week or so ago, I said to myself, “Self, Chazz is finally getting better. We have our playful little man back.” I mean, he was even attempting to walk all week. He was feeling good.

Until he woke up in the middle of the night coughing and stuffy. Again. –PLUG IN HUMIDIFIER–

Fast forward to noon thirty, and Roman and Chazz are at the pediatrician’s office because he gurgled/burped/projected a tummy full of curdled milk.
(A *little* glad I was at work for that one..)

Did you know that they could do that? And NOT have the flu?? Turns out, the poor dude has an ear infection. Again. And all of the phlegm is making his gag reflex a tad bit sensitive.

This kid is gagging on everything. From his milk to soggy cheerios.

I did recieve a lot of ideas from my Twitter mama-friends, about steaming via the shower and adding Vicks to the humidifyer. (Thanks!) And after tweeting about the never ending snot, I recieved this little spammy gem:


What is it, you say? Of course I googled it. Turns out it’s a nasal aspirator. THAT HOOKS UP TO YOUR VACUUME. To suck out all that stuff, possibly along with his brain. What the… heck.
Not using that on my kid, no thanks. Nuh-uh.

It’s day two and we’re battling this with ear drops and an anibiotics/Tylenol cocktail. On no sleep. Well, Chazz is sleeping ok, snuggled up on my chest to breathe. But somewhere in between the vomiting, coughing, and steaming up our bathroom with the shower, we’ve somehow forgotten to sleep.

Add work on for me, and school for Roman, and you’ve got a good recipe for grumpy.

Don’t you just wish you could be sick *for* them?

Sigh.

Thanks for visiting. You can leave a comment (I’d love to know you stopped by!), read more about us, or even vote for Forever&After by clicking the banner below.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashleigh
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 22:15:40

    Okay this might sound wacko, but for you and Roman it MIGHT work. It totally worked for me I promise. I read about apple cider vinegar helping get rid of colds. I tried it. I took a swig of acv every hour for one day, followed by rinsing out my mouth with water *VERY important* and it made that cold do a 180! I usually get sick for weeks. It starts in the throat & nose and drains into my chest. It never made it to my chest. It has something to do with your body going alkaline when it stars getting sick and your PH levels being unbalanced. Look it up. It may be worth a try. Get well soon ya’all 🙂

    Reply

    • Chelcie Tragedy
      Dec 01, 2010 @ 23:19:15

      At this point I’m ready to try ANYTHING, lol. Thanks Ashleigh. Did it taste completely aweful? Or was it tolerable?? It sounds pretty legit either way.

      Ps. I do hope to see and your cutie pie soon. A playdate is in order, I think!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

