Mommy Rant


Can I just say something here?

I am getting really FRACKIN’ tired of people commenting on how small Chazz is. At the grocery store. The coffee shop. Random kids at church?

Anytime I’m asked how old he is, it is NINE TIMES OUT OF TEN followed by a comment on his size. The other one of ten must have a brain. Or tact. Decency, maybe? Should I go on?

Do I point out your child, with snot running down his nose to his ankles? No. Do I comment on your size? Even if I find both to be repulsive. No. I keep my mouth shut. *Because I care.* {And it’s much more fun to rant about it on my blog teehee ,-) }

And is it really that much of a surprise to begin with? I mean I’m a whole FIVE FEET TALL and a whopping 100 pounds soaking wet. And my husband? Well, he won’t be sumo wrestling or tossing assists to Shaq in this lifetime. SO WHY IS IT HARD….

to make the mental connection that Chazz’s size seems pretty in proportion to the (amazing) person that GREW-and-then-BIRTHED him? Strange, is it?

AAAARGH!

So next time you feel the urge to comment, hold your tongue because it just might be my baby in that grocery cart, and this mama *might* just lose it!

And for the record. It is RUDE to make ANY comment on someone’s size. Big. Small. Whatever. Just sayin’….

(Whew. I feel a little better.)

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Ayers
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 14:41:00

    I know! I am 4 ft 9 in. or something like that!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Tweets that mention Mommy Rant « Forever&After -- Topsy.com
  3. Eureka M
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 15:33:46

    My little sweet 10mos old Is a chubby checker. But I Love it. Shes healthy, very mobile and my husband & I were the same way. People say comments ALL The time so I understand your rant. Everywhere we go she is a conversation starter. Did you have her natural? *straight face. You must be joking with these questions. Smile. We have beautiful children 😀

    Reply

    • Chelcie Tragedy
      Dec 09, 2010 @ 23:37:16

      Isn’t that funny? All those silly guestions. And as long as they are healthy and happy, nothing else matters. 🙂

      *Chelcie*

      Reply

  4. Theresa
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 15:12:07

    Amen sista! Very well stated. I am so tired of it too! I swear you must be reading my mind today. I have a 2 yr old, boy that may need growth hormone. He is being watched by the endo. We go back in Feb to decide on a plan. He is very small for his age, compared to typical 2 yr olds. I hate going out in public because we always get the, “how old is he?” Followed by, “wow, really……but he is soo tiny??” Geez, thanks rude person. I had no idea?? Nice to know I am not alone in feeling like the general public is freakin’ rude. Iwish they would shut their pie hole before making a size comment!

    Theresa (Tampa, FL)

    Reply

    • Chelcie Tragedy
      Dec 15, 2010 @ 19:25:07

      Thank you! It is prob. the single most annoying thing about going in public lately, lol. And how is it they don’t see it as rude? It’s like it never crosses their mind!

      It sounds like we are in a similar boat, with the growth hormones as well. What sort of options did they give you?I would love to pick your brain and share info.

      Best to you and the kiddo! *Chelcie*

      Reply

      • Theresa
        Dec 16, 2010 @ 10:05:51

        Sure, we can compare notes. It helps to chat with others. I have learned more from other moms than many “so called” professionals and doctors. Feel free to email me at: tkaupp@verizon.net

        Good luck to you all!
        Theresa

  5. Alexandria Campbell
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 13:06:46

    omg i think you might have totally stolen one of earlier post! ok just kidding. but i used to feel the same way! i would literally want to punch people when they would say it! and then they’d follow it up with “my 6 month old is wearing 24 mth clothes!” it took everything i had not to respond “enjoy your obese kid!” it made me so angry.

    luckily we don’t hear it anymore because phoenix has finally caught up. we actually hear a lot how tall he is for his age which makes me feel good!

    but if were to do it all over again i would respond back with a snappy comment. it’ll make people think twice!

    Reply

    • Chelcie Tragedy
      Dec 16, 2010 @ 21:58:54

      I’m glad I’m not the only mom who has felt this way! I wonder when they will learn?! It want to snap back so bad. But I think I might just start NOT replying. Completly mute, blank stare, walk away. And leave them wondering “Was it something I said?” Uhhhm, ya!

      So glad you stopped by to comment. I love reading your blog, and Phoenix is such a doll.

      *Chelcie*

      Reply

Leave a Reply

