I’ve Got A Mom Crush


As funny as it may sound, it’s true.

I have a total Mom Crush on a mom who comes into the boutique with her son. Not only does she have the custest style I’ve ever seen, but “Sonya” and “Max” are always in a bright mood.

And she is like my parenting muse.

I get butterflies when she comes in. I love seeing he with her young boy. And I know I will pick up a few parenting tips and even have a laugh or two!

Yes, I watch and take note of moms and dads I admire, my mind is always taking notes.

The way she parents her son appeals me. He seems so content and confident to play on his own, occasionally looking around to make sure his mom is close and he is still ok. At which point Sonya usually smiles and nods at him to let him know that he is.

It’s a beautiful thing.

And heartwarming to watch and learn from. All of her hard work as a loving, caring, teaching parent paying off.

The kind of parents Roman and I work to be.

Is it weird for me to be taking motherhood notes? I would never do it in a judgemental way, or to make comparisons to prove myself better. Only to pick up ideas on what I do and don’t want to be as a parent.

Am I the only one with a “parenting muse?” Or is there a mom or dad that you admire as well?

I hope I am not alone. I want to be the best mama I can be for Chazz. I constantly strive towards that. I’ve never done this before, so soaking up the knowledge and the examples of mothers around me has been an awesome way to help navigate this thing called motherhood.

After all, Chazz never came with a handbook!

You can leave a comment (please do!), read more about us, or even vote for Forever&After by clicking the banner below.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lindsay Dianne
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 14:08:16

    I have been watching parents since long before I was a parent. They’re amazing. And never so amazing as once you know what it means to be one. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Great post!

    Reply

  2. Alexandria Campbell
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 18:44:31

    Like the other commenter said I’ve always watched parents even before I had kids, but it wasn’t always with an eye of aw. It was more judgmental and of course if I have learned anything now its that judging another parent is really the last thing I need to do.

    I don’t have a mom crush on anyone but I certainly have been places and have watched & observed how other moms interact with their kids and I pick up a lot both good & bad by watching them. Because like you said….they did not come with a handbook but boy do I wish they did.

    Reply

  3. kristin
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 21:22:57

    It’s so true. I take parenting notes, both good and bad. I see things I don’t want to do and things I do. I love just seeing the interaction between mothers, fathers and children. Between families all together. It’s a wonderful thing.

    Great post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

