Another Successful Appointment


So after all of last night’s venting? Chazz’s doctors appointment was easy-peasy!

There were no shots, no bloodwork, and no tears. Which is a success in my book.

The purpose of the appt was to check on his weight, since he is such a little man. And we will be seeing them every two months until he makes some ground in the growth department.

The good news is HE DID GAIN WEIGHT!! Chazz weighed in at 18 pounds 11 ounces and 29 1/4 inches tall. {Yes, we are counting any extra ounces or inches we can!} And his head measures right on, as usual.

Roman an I managed to throw together a last-minute list of questions. His pedi had a lot of extra time to answer them, which helped put our minds at ease a little.

Chazz won’t be needing tubes in his ears due to those back to back ear infections a while back as they thought. His ears looked great. Success!

As far as growth, Chazz isn’t leveling out on the growth chart, which is good. He is continuing right along the same curve (between the 1st and 2nd %ile).

Ideally, we want to see him at 4%-5% by two. So we have a lot of headway to make, but I think we can do it.

We also are not going to start him on any growth hormones unless he starts leveling out on the growth chart.

We are going to take Chazz to see the Pediatric Endocrinologist in Seattle if he doesn’t make some headway by the next check-up in two months. Just to be sure that his pituitary gland is producing enough of other hormones as well.

Sigh.

I don’t want to do that, because it frankly is scary and pretty much involves pushing him to the point of being hypoglycemic and testing his levels over a three day hospital stay.

It sounds rough, and I don’t want my baby to go through that.

So we have the next two months to get some chunk on this kid!

But as his doctor said, it looks like he is holding ground, so there is a lot in our favor. And the way Chazz has been eating, I think it will all work out.

So after all my worries, the appt went just fine, we got good news, and all our questions were answered.

Oh, and I made his next appointment in the afternoon. So no more early morning doctor dates from now on!
(really, what was I thinking?!)

You can leave a comment (please do!), read more about us, or even vote for Forever&After by clicking the banner below.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashleigh
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 20:43:34

    I’m so glad it went well momma! Yay for Chazz!

    Reply

  2. Alexandria Campbell
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 09:56:46

    I’m so happy that the appointment was full of good news. Best of luck the next two months!

    Reply

  3. Ashlie Lil-Bit Harding
    Oct 08, 2011 @ 13:58:16

    Hi my name is Ashlie. I to suffered from growth hormone issues as a baby and now through my adult life. Please let me know if I can offer any advice or just an ear to listen.

    Reply

    • Forever&After
      Oct 19, 2011 @ 17:00:37

      Wow, Ashlie, I am so glad you found my blog and are willing to share your experience. The growth and hormone issues Chazz has are due to an underdeveloped pituitary gland, what causes yours? How has it affected your life? Do you recieve injections? Thank you so so much.

      Reply

  4. Sheila
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 18:31:54

    Hello – I just stumbled on to your blog and I’m reading your experiences with hungry eyes. My gorgeous little niece, just 1 week old is in hospital (she hasn’t left since day dot!) and the Drs are saying that it could be underdeveloped pituritary gland (from head scans). She had seizures, glucose levels keep dropping and they’re pumping her with medication to keep her glucose level normal. Trying to gain as much information as possible because the endochronologists wanted to start growth hormones two days ago but my brother wanted to wait a bit. We’re having a meeting this afternoon.

    Would love to hear from Ashlie about your experiences growing up with it.
    Thank you!
    Sheila

    Reply

Leave a Reply

