Daycare Isn’t A Crime, I’m Just A Coward


Chazz Man will be heading on an adventure all his own Wednesday. He starts his first day of “daycare.”

{I prefer the term “nanny.” Because it sounds less scary. Like I’m not dropping my kid off with someone I only barely know. The anxiety is GETTING TO ME.}

In related news: Mommy is going to have a breakdown tomorrow. I try not to ::hyperventilate:: when I think about it but COME ON!!

There is most likely a tear-filled panic attack in my new future.

I didn’t exactly picture someone else taking care of my kiddo.
But we have to make this work.

We like the idea that Chazz won’t be at some drop-off center with a bunch of runny-nosed/obnoxious/distracting/sickly/bad-mannered/GERMY! kids.

::hyperventilation::

This seems like a better fit for us.

It’s just Chazz, “Emily,” and another little 3 year old boy.

Cozy. I like cozy.

And the fact that he cried, no, BAWLED when we left her home after the interview makes me feel a little better.

At least he likes her. Right?

::hyperventilation::

My list, in preperation? Is a mile long.

Extra this. Extra that. A favorite toy. A NANNY CAM.

Okay I’m a little kidding about that last one. Just know that if I had one handy… I would totally use it…
I’ll just have to re-park my car and peek in the windows…

Okay, again, mostly kidding.
Emily seemed great with Chazz. Playful, attentive, nurturing.
Second-best to yours truly.

And she is willing to help potty train when the time comes… SCORE!

All in all, this is almost like one big leap of faith for us. (Chazz just thinks it’s one big playdate lol. “Ooh! New Toys!”)

On one hand, I know he will be safe and in good hands. But on the other, he isn’t safe unless he is in MY good hands… Ya know?

Oh the internal conflict that comes with motherhood. You all should have warned me.!.

You can leave a comment (please do!), read more about us, or even vote for Forever&After by clicking the banner below.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alexandria Campbell
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 13:33:57

    as some one who has only ever left her 2.5 yro son with my parents and is about to move 3000 miles away and needs to find a nanny i can only imagine who scary it must be. but take comfort that chazz is comfortable and if your gut is telling you “emily” is safe & capable go with it.

    Reply

    • Forever&After
      Feb 08, 2011 @ 20:07:15

      Then you know exactly how I feel. Ugh, the internal
      conflict!! But you are right, if my gut feeling (and chazz’s
      obviously!) is a good one, then we’re just gotta go with it. Good
      luck on your nanny adventure too, mama. It will all fall into
      place. It always does!

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Tweets that mention Daycare Isn’t A Crime, I’m Just A Coward « Forever&After -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

