Day Three: Beautiful Disaster


The first two days of dropping Chazz off at daycare (and the whole daycare experience, really…) went a lot better than I had anticipated.

But morning number three? Was a disaster.

Chazz is too smart for his own my good. He knew the moment we pulled up exactly where we were and why.

And friends? He stuck to me like Velcro. Like super glue. Like white on rice…

And my boy was NOT letting go of me for dear life. He clung to my leg and cried a pitiful cry.

Insert panic.

I was already running late. My mind was a little more than flustered, and leaving Chazz there knowing he was crying would have made me feel aweful.

The look on his little face was heartbreaking. He has it down to an art. And I could have caved right then and there, called in to work, and spent the day cuddling, yet full of guilty.

I think the sitter knew I was on the verge of something, so she swept his cute little butt right up and distracted Chazz with a toy car.

Just long enough for me to sneak right out the door and off to work like a good girl!

And when I came to pick him up at the end of the day? He was right on her lap, snuggled in, watching a movie. (You know, he never sits still to cuddle with me… Sigh, toddlerhood)

And just when I thought I had been replaced… He walked across the room and right into this Mama’s arms.

And all of the panic and guilt I held in all day was instantly lifted. Gone.

Just a proud mama and her little man!

I think this is all going to work out just fine.

You can leave a comment (please do!), read more about us, or even vote for Forever&After by clicking the banner below.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jade
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 15:15:28

    You’re both champs! Good on you and Chazz, we could have warned you that you were going to be ok – but know that there will be more moments of complete “hyperventilation – panic – guilt” and more bad feeling moments. But guess what: you’ll survive those just as well!
    And at least you’re now getting to know someone to trust with your boy, so you can take some real time for yourself as well now and then – and you’d better enjoy it now and then.

    Reply

  2. Alexandria Campbell
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 12:10:49

    i liked how you switched out “for his own good” to “my good” because really that’s the way it works. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

