Faux Hawk Lovin’- The First Hair Cut


A certain little man got his first hair cut yesterday!

The New Look

Doesn’t he just look stellar in his little faux hawk!?

And it wasn’t half as crazy as I had it all worked up in my head to be. I thought I would cry. I didn’t. I thought he would scream, or worse, wiggle and end up with a buz cut… He didn’t. In fact, he sat pretty dang still. He was occupied with using the spray bottle on himself, and for the occasional sip of water. The gal who cut his hair was smiley, quick, and entertaining. She even spiked up his hawk with a little green colored gel to match his outfit. And he didn’t squirm that much at all!

But can I just admit something?
I really didn’t want to cut it. Roman and I both loved the skater boy waves and perfect curls in back. I loved running my fingers through his hair until he passed out on my chest. (or until my arm fell asleep, whichever came first.) I loved how his sopping wet hair after bath time came just past his shoulder blades. sigh.

However. . .
The multiple accidental gender confusions were getting on this mama’s nerves. I mean, HELLO, can you not see the camo pants and blue Cars sippy cup??? Even little kids at the park were thing he was a she.
But really the final straw was how dready it would get in the mornings. Chazz has a lot of super fine hair, and it would work itself into the most intricate of knots overnight. The tears from trying to negotiate and brush his hair every morning was getting out of hand! I even wanted to cry.

Or just give in and let the kid have dreads for real.

So it was time. For us to let go of the baby hair, put a stop to the morning tears, and for Chazz Man to get a new look. I think it was a Win Win!

Leave a Reply

